ARC Review: Uninvited by Sophie Jordan

Uninvited (Uninvited, #1)Uninvited
by Sophie Jordan
Ebook, 384 pages
Expected publication: January 28th 2014
by HarperTeen
Source: ARC from publisher

GoodReads | Amazon
The Scarlet Letter meets Minority Report in bestselling author Sophie Jordan's chilling new novel about a teenage girl who is ostracized when her genetic test proves she's destined to become a murderer.
When Davy Hamilton's tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene-she loses everything. Her boyfriend ditches her, her parents are scared of her, and she can forget about her bright future at Juilliard. Davy doesn't feel any different, but genes don't lie. One day she will kill someone.
Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life. Davy wants to trust him; maybe he's not as dangerous as he seems. Or maybe Davy is just as deadly.
The first in a two-book series, Uninvited tackles intriguing questions about free will, identity, and human nature. Steeped in New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan's trademark mix of gripping action and breathless romance, this suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michelle Hodkin, and Lisa McMann.

 
Uninvited is one of those novels that mirrors the issues of real life so much that the lines of fiction become blurred. We live in a time where random acts of violence and mass murders are all too common. There have been massacres on college campuses from single gunmen. Children and faculty were slaughtered on a regular school day. A slew of athletes terrorized at a marathon. The list goes on. We are a nation constantly on edge from a danger that could be the very person we speak to everyday. The fear is “never truly knowing the cause of it all”. The public can only be mollified with gun control and theories of mental illness for so long. In Uninvited, researchers have narrowed it down to one common denominator that can be found in a single gene; and the government to a single conclusion: Control the HTS carriers, control the killings.

Uninvited was gripping, chilling, and all too believable. Sophie Jordan trail blazes this story with a character sure to evoke sympathy and outrage from the reader. Davy Hamilton is the American Dream. She’s a blond hair, virgin female musical prodigy, dating the most popular jock, and born into a wealthy & respectful family. Yet none of this could save her from her own DNA. Davy is a vision of everything perceived as pure; and she carries the “kill gene”. The irony is staggering. Once diagnosed, Davy goes from Pretty in Pink & Clueless to Orange is the New Black. She is ostracized by her friends, denounced by her family, “uninvited” by her school, dumped by the love of her life, and completely thrown to the wolves of the killers she is labeled as being amongst. The magnitude of her loss is, lump in the back of your throat, tangible. Contrarily to other dystopian novels, this heroine doesn’t automatically turn kick ass overnight, she wallows in her loss for a while, and for that I find her very believable.

The world of Uninvited, as seen through the eyes of a HTS carrier, is so oppressive, it’s downright suffocating. The iron hand of the law is a sliver notch able genocide and restructured holocaust. This world WILL piss you off. My only complaint is there was a lot of rebuttal to the HTS theory. While some HTS identified were certifiable sociopaths, others appeared dormant. It made me question the science behind the hypothesis. Since the case studies weren’t fully disclosed it left me wondering. This wasn’t enough to take away from my overall enjoyment. The romance is sweetly paced and the buildup will leave you breathless. The suspense and action makes Uninvited worth the read. I would recommend to fans of dystopian. This was my first Sophie Jordan novel and I hope to read more of her work. I look forward to the conclusion in the next novel.
 

 
*This ARC was provided by the publisher for an honest review.

7 comments:

  1. This story sounds fascinating and so sad. It relates very much to society. I am adding to goodreads :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. Ooohh, I am going to have to check this out!

    ReplyDelete
  3. I already saw this book but never read the blurb. I think this society is dumb. If you test someone who might potentially become a murderer then ostracize them and keep them around to feel belittled and outcast...how can you not expect something bad to happen! Idiots! But this is a great story and I must add Sophie that your cover makes me jealous.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yes bad things do and did happen! Exactly! It raised another question as to if the HTS folks did bad things because of the gene or because of the way they were treated.

      Delete
  4. This cover caught my eye, but your review clinched it for me - I definitely need to read this one!

    Nicole @ Feed Your Fiction Addiction

    ReplyDelete
  5. This sounds fascinating! Great cover and the story sounds just as good! Thanks for sharing!
    ~Jess

    ReplyDelete
  6. Wow! I'm so excited to read this! Does Davy show any homicidal tendencies herself? I fee like it's kind of sending a sheep into a pack of wolves, only the sheep is actually a wolf too. (Did that make sense? Awkward...)

    This review definitely made me want to go out and buy the book. In fact, I'll probably go pre-order it sometime soon. :D

    ReplyDelete

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Ad