Review: Addicted by Tracey Wolff

Addicted (Ethan Frost - Book #2)
by Tracey Wolff
Kindle Edition, 245 pages
ASIN: B00IHMEBR6
Source: Ebook - Own

Goodreads | Amazon

20890046
Ethan Frost returns in the breathtaking conclusion to New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Tracy Wolff’s seductive novel Ruined—perfect for fans of Release Me and Bared to You.
As Chloe Girard discovers, there’s love . . . and then there’s addiction.
Ethan Frost is everything a woman could want in a man. He’s rich, gorgeous, powerful, one of the most eligible bachelors in the world.
But that’s not why I’m with him.
I love Ethan for all the things no one else gets to see: his innate kindness, his reckless spontaneity, his unwavering determination to use his brilliance for good. I love the way he looks at me, the way he touches me. The way he makes me forget the wreckage of my past and the twisted fear that still lives inside me.
But sometimes it terrifies me how much I crave him, how much I need him just to breathe. I always thought it would be my past that ruined us, but there’s a darkness in Ethan I never dreamed existed. Can we survive as his secrets surface—threatening to unravel us both?




When we left off in book #1 we were left with such a cliffhanger that I wanted to throw my Kindle across the room. That was not nice to do to us. But of course we are anxious to see what happens next because of it. Where we left off is Chloe answers Ethan's door to find her rapist Brandon standing on the front porch. Of course we know this is Ethan's brother. It was still a shock for me because I figured it out when Ethan and Chloe first started dating and Chloe had to tell Ethan about the rape. In that same area of book #1 Ethan talks about his brother getting into some trouble and having to bail him out. Neither one says the brothers name but I kind of figured it out early hoping that I was wrong.


So anyway, Chloe is blindsided after making up with Ethan trying to break-up with her. They spend the night together not able to give the other one up but this is too much to handle. Chloe freaks out (with good reason) and flees the house. She cannot get away fast enough. Once at home she proceeds to just flop to the ground. Tori comes to her rescue and decides to grab some dinner for them once Chloe has past out. But when Chloe wakes up she is really hungry from not eating and then she sees the BLENDER. Chloe is angry all over again and she takes all that aggression out on the poor Vitimix Blender. 

I have to say that I was hysterical during the blender scene. I remember being that angry and I feel that the author conveyed it perfectly. Her going freaking crazy with destroying that blender was one of the best scenes I have ever read. I could feel every angry and crazy emotion the character was feeling. That scene was hands down a 5 STAR scene.

Chloe and Ethan have lots of ups and downs in this part of the story. Breaking up for this reason or that reason but always coming back to the same conclusion that they cannot live without one another. I get why Ethan kept so many things from Chloe. She was already hurting and having issues processing everything adding to that internal struggle. And Ethan should have just put it all on the table and been done with it so there was nothing more to blindside Chloe. But Chloe also needed to see that Ethan had no control over Brandon or his mothers choices. Ethan did not hurt Chloe nor did he ever ignore the pain she was feeling because of it. Therefore, I feel that Chloe should have just forgiven Ethan and moved past it.

I for one would not have been able to continue a relationship of this nature unless Ethan had cut off his mother and brother from his life and mine therefore, ensuring my safety. But how could you ask a person to shun their family for you, I'm not sure that you can.

Their relationship is unhealthy for Chloe and Ethan needed to make the changes that occur in order to make Chloe's life easier. I agree with this. But I feel that Ethan compromised and Chloe really didn't. And maybe Chloe was not supposed to compromise considering everything that happened to her. However, Chloe basically says over and over again that she needs to get over the rape and move forward but she doesn't. She never does because she is letting it cloud the relationship her and Ethan have.

Really the truth is I do not believe that a person can ever get over being assaulted or raped. I think that is something that stays with you forever. But I feel that even though you don't "get over it" you can move past it and move on to a future without that pain and sorrow. I do not feel that Chloe's character ever accomplished this.

I unfortunately did not like Chloe as much in this part of the story. I felt she was too WHY ME, WHY ME and too much with one foot in the past and another in the present with no foot in the future. Too whiny and not appreciative of what her boyfriend was trying to do for her.

Rating: 3 STARS



Happy Reading!



1 comment:

  1. Wow, this seems like a book which had a lot to live up to after the big cliffhanger the previous one ended on! I am glad you finally got to see how everything worked out in book two.

    Check out my review and giveaway: http://olivia-savannah.blogspot.nl/2014/09/waiting-for-dusk-book-review-giveaway.html

    ReplyDelete

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Ad